Securities Law

72-301 - Distributions Outside of the Local Jurisdiction Proposed Multilateral Instrument 72-101 [CSA Staff Notice - Rescinded]

Published Date: 2002-03-15
Effective Date: 2002-03-15
Rescinded Date: 2010-02-19
On September 8, 2000 the Canadian Securities Administrators (“CSA”) published for comment a set of proposed regulatory documents that would establish new rules for the distribution of securities to persons outside of the local jurisdiction. The proposed documents are Multilateral Instrument 72-101 Distributions Outside of the Local Jurisdiction, Companion Policy 72-101CP and Form 72-101F1.

This initiative is now being considered under the CSA Uniform Securities Legislation Project (the “USL Project”). Therefore, the CSA will not be proceeding with these proposed documents as published. The objective of the USL Project is to eliminate the differences in provincial and territorial securities laws by developing a uniform act and rules within two years. Until that time, issuers and their counsel should refer to current local policies, rules and instruments relating to distributions of securities outside the jurisdiction for guidance.

For further information please contact:

Dean Murrison, Committee Chair
Saskatchewan Securities Commission
Telephone: (306) 787-5879
E-mail: dmurrison@ssc.gov.sk.ca

Rosann Youck
Senior Legal Counsel
British Columbia Securities Commission
Telephone: (604) 899-6656
or (800) 373-6393 (in B.C. and Alberta)
E-mail: ryouck@bcsc.bc.ca

Marsha Manolescu
Senior Legal Counsel
Alberta Securities Commission
Telephone: (780) 422-1914
or (800) 373-6393 (in B.C. and Alberta)
E-mail: marsha.manolescu@seccom.ab.ca

Chris Besko
Assistant Counsel
Manitoba Securities Commission
Telephone: (204) 945-2561
E-mail: cbesko@cca.gov.mb.ca

Iva Vranic/Jean-Paul Bureaud
Manager/Legal Counsel, Corporate Finance
Ontario Securities Commission
Telephone: (416) 593-8115/593-8131
E-mail: ivranic@osc.gov.on.ca/jbureaud@osc.gov.on.ca

Shirley Lee
Senior Legal Counsel
Nova Scotia Securities Commission
Telephone: (902) 424-5441
E-mail: leesp@gov.ns.ca

March 15, 2002